Stitching, massive orders, and Etsy

This week has felt crazy to me thus far! I am finishing orders, still running my IG craft swap, and working on getting my Etsy shop up and running.

As far as orders, I’m not behind at all…but I’m one of those people who always wants to get things done NOW and not wait around. I just got a big order in for six amigurumi figures. That may not seem like much, but the level of detail that goes into each piece means I spend 2-5 evenings on each one.

Plus, you know, Christmas orders have sort of a set deadline!

I’m also planning a Disneyland trip for early December, and since we are flying in and have a short window of time, I want things pretty set so that we don’t have the stress while there. I’m a Disney World vet, so I know my planning craziness helps in the long run, but it sure does feel hopeless right now.

image

And then there is the Etsy shop. Now to be honest, I have been scared to open one. Scared of failure, scared of no sales, just plain afraid. But I told myself I would give it a good six months or so on IG to build a fan base and then by the New Year I would open the shop.

image

I just bought the Etsy course from The Merriweather Council, I’m reading and researching, and I’m saving listings. It just all feels like so much – SEO to learn, a bank account to open, tax information to start tracking – has anyone else climbed this mountain and survived?

Alright, I know a lot of people have! I can do this! If you have an etsy, what is your best piece of advice to a new seller?

From the Desk of MamaBice_Makes

Leave a Reply

